FAQ – How to Become a Closing Agent or Signing Agent in Minnesota
- Complete the required state Closing Agent License application.
The application for an Individual Closing Agent License is found on the Pulseportal.com website. Select MN Department of Commerce> Licensing Services> Submit License Application> Individual (unless you own a closing company)> License Type> Closing Agent, and complete the information. If you do not have a Trust Account (which is not required – and not recommended), you must submit a completed and notarized Trust Account Waiver Form to the MN Department of Commerce.
- Complete the Required Education. Obtaining your license makes you eligible to close for title companies, lenders and law firms. The class contains legal content required under Statute. Minnesota does not recognize the nickname “Signing Agent or Mobile Notary,” a common name for a person who travels to meet people, checks ID and notarizes signatures on real estate documents. Minnesota requires a Closing Agent License, which demonstrates a higher level of knowledge, information on trust accounts, and background checks, because closers handle personal and confidential information as well as large amounts of money. There is potentially a $10,000 fine per transaction for closing/notarizing real estate documents without the license.
- Obtain your Notary Commission Complete the Application for your Notary Commission with the Minnesota Secretary of State. Additional Commissions are required to notarize documents electronically or by Remote Online Notarization and there are many rules. While education is not a state requirement for notaries, it is strongly recommended as you must know the laws, rules and the correct certificates to be used. If you are commissioned to notarize remotely (for example those who are handicapped) this can be a game-changer for employment.
- Consider the Minnesota Closing Academy Course. If you are new to the real estate and Closing Agent business, this class is a practical, hands-on application of how to enter, grow and handle your Closing Agent business. It walks you through the business of being a self-employed, Independent Contractor, the records you need to keep, how to present all the Minnesota real estate documents involved, and gives important tips that would be learned the hard way, if you don’t learn the ropes from an expert. We have a special, temporary, offer for the class. If you enter: Walk through as a coupon code, you will receive $99 off the class. See information at the Video below and Sign Up Here.
About Our Course
“Principles of Closing“ is an eight hour, online, pre-license closing procedures course that has been approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce for the Closing Agent License, which is required by the state for real estate closers, mobile notaries, e-notaries and remote online notaries who authenticate any real estate documents. The course closely follows the curriculum required by the state under the statute. The course is available 24/7 and you can log in and log out at will, bookmarking your place as you go.
Each section is timed and must be completed in order. A quiz for each section must be passed in order to move on to the next section. This assures that you understand the material. While each section has a minimum amount of time allotted, you may take as long as you wish to thoroughly understand the material, and you may review the course materials as often as you like, so long as you complete the entire course within 120 days.
At the end on the course, there is an online examination that requires a proctor, a person with no financial interest in your passing the exam, who is not a relative, and who signs a prescribed Proctor Form saying they saw you take the exam with no assistance from books, notes, your computer, or any other source when taking the exam. When you have passed the exam, you must submit the proctor form, course evaluation and the last four digits of your SSN so that course completion can be submitted to the state.
Your Exam Results are sent to Commerce electronically. Please use your legal name, as it appears on your driver’s license.